Board of Directors

2022-2023 Board of Directors

Linda McFadyen – President – Elected February 2016

Linda is former Deputy Minister, Manitoba Municipal Relations and Emergency Management. Linda has a Masters in City Planning

Committees: Executive

The arts are essential to great cities. I believe Artspace can support that vision.”

Evan Sinclair – Vice President – Elected February 2022

Evan is a professional urban planner and longtime skateboarder

Committees: Executive, Fundraising

“Our local arts community is essential for so many reasons – from animating our urban spaces to strengthening our economy to showcasing our diverse cultural landscape. By providing space and resources to this community, Artspace plays an important role in its continued success.”

Johanna Chipman – Secretary – Elected February 2018

Johanna has a background in Finance, Strategy and Real Estate

Committees: Fundraising, Executive

After several years working in commercial real estate in downtown Winnipeg, Johanna became interested in the other, crucial part of a lively downtown: arts and cultural institutions. Johanna is grateful to get to play a role in Artspace’s valuable and long-standing contributions to our city.

Joseph Kalturnyk – Director – Elected February 2017

Joe has a background in Architecture/Design, Curation and Project Management 

Committees: Fundraising

Brian Drader – Director – Elected February 2018

Brian is a writer, dramaturg, actor, teacher, and artistic administrator. His writing career has spanned 35 years, with six plays published. His work has been produced in Canada, the United States, and Europe, and won numerous awards including the Herman Voaden National Playwriting Award, the Philadelphia Brick Playhouse New Play Award, and the prestigious Lambda Literary Award for Drama (USA), as well as nominations for the Governor General’s Literary Award and the McNally Robinson Book of the Year.  Brian has supported the development of hundreds of plays and projects through his dramaturgical practice, ranging from Fringe productions to Cirque du Soleil’s MJ ONE at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas to working dramaturgically on the 2017  revamp of The Canadian Museum of History in Ottawa. He served for 13 years as the Director of Playwriting at the National Theatre School of Canada in Montreal, and is presently the Executive Director of the Manitoba Association of Playwrights and contract faculty at the University of Winnipeg. 

Chimwemwe Undi – Director – Elected February 2021

Chim is an Associate at Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP, poet and spoken word artist

Committees: Fundraising committee

“I am excited to use my passions outside of the arts to support my passion for the arts. Artspace’s project is to provide a space for art by supporting many of the organizations that make Winnipeg a great place to live, and I think that’s pretty cool.”

Image Source: Winnipeg Free Press

Philip Bobby (He/Him) – Treasurer – Elected February 2021

Philip is a Chartered Professional Accountant and manager at Fort Group Chartered Professional Accountants where he specializes in assurance engagements for non-profit, private company and first nation communities. 

Committees: Fundraising Committee

Philip lives in the downtown area and understands the importance and impact that arts and culture can have on the surrounding community.

Louise Smith (She/Her), BA, MBA, ICD.D – Director – Elected February 2019

Louise works in strategic planning, change management, research and strategic communications. She has held roles in publishing, financial services and government and is currently VP, Strategy and Engagement at Credit Union Central of Manitoba. Louise has served on various not-for-profit boards in the arts and social services, including long service on the board of the Winnipeg International Writers’ Festival. She holds the Institute of Corporate Directors’ ICD.D designation, continues to pursue board governance learning, and works regularly with boards on strategic matters.

Committees: Governance Committee

Every city needs space for art, the people who make art and those who support them. The organizational purpose of Artspace is to address that need.

Luc Fournier – Director – Elected February 2018

Luc brings with him over twenty years of experience in Government Relations and Human Resources.  He started his career as a reporter before opening his own public relations firm, which led him to provide communications advice to provincial and federal ministers.

After his last political assignment, Luc spent a decade lobbying on behalf of private sector clients from coast to coast, before pivoting to Human Resources. He holds a bachelor’s and a master’s in communications and a diploma in Human Resources.  He is currently a CPHR candidate and is fluently bilingual, French-English.

“I have learned from a young age that arts just make everything better. It defines and helps you remember every city you visit – it is the best present from a community to itself. My participation in Artspace enables me to connect and be part of a great success story.”

Richard Bars – Director – Elected February 2020

Richard is an associate lawyer in the advocacy department of MLT Aikins LLP, practising in the areas of civil, commercial, and construction litigation, as well as professional regulation. He has a long history of volunteering in the Winnipeg arts community and has worked with artists both locally and internationally.

“Artists and arts organizations need spaces to flourish, and it is a privilege to be able to be part of an organization that helps meet that need in our community.”

Evan Taylor – Director – Elected February 2022

Evan is a registered architect at Architecture49.

It is an honour to contribute to an organization that supports spaces for the arts and artist communities which make our city special.”

Jaimz Asmundson – Director – Elected February 2017

Jaimz is currently the Cinematheque Programming Director at the Winnipeg Film Group and is a filmmaker and musician.

Artspace Inc.

  • 425-100 Arthur Street
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    R3B 1H3
  • Tel: 204.947.0984
  • Email: