For over thirty years, Artspace has been a leader in Manitoba's arts and cultural community. This building houses artist studios, writing studios, two galleries, a movie theatre, two darkrooms, editing bays, green screens, sound studios, and nearly two dozen arts and cultural organizations working in film, video, book publishing, magazines, visual arts, theatre, music, and photography. Artspace also offers support services for arts organizations across the province.

Blog

Our trusty Artspace staff post tips, tricks and information for the arts community about building and managing exceptional arts organizations. The information we post is drawn from our experiences working in, and for, the arts over many years. We hope you find the information useful, and if you have a topic you’d like us to look into, let us know and we’ll tap our resources to find an answer.

What’s up in the arts today

7 days ago

Artspace

*To clarify our statement about cuts to public art in the 2019 budget process:
We thank the Mayor and Council for their support to the Winnipeg Arts Council and thereby to the arts in Winnipeg. In addition to the annual allocation to the Public Art Strategy, the City has invested in public art for two major infrastructure projects. Included in previous fiscal years, the investment in the Southwest Rapid Transit Way and Waverley Underpass totaled just under $2M over five years. The single issue at hand is the $500,000 annual allocation for the Public Art Strategy in the Planning, Property and Development Department’s budget in the 2019 Capital Budget. While Council has indicated that they intend to bring that amount back in 2020, there are no guarantees.


In the 2019 Preliminary Capital Budget, the City cut the $500,000 allocation for the Public Art Program. Though this contribution represents only about one tenth of 1% of the Capital Budget, the diversity, impact and resulting social benefits of Winnipeg’s Public Art Program are renowned as exceptional. The elimination of this budget line in 2019 means an end to plans for family-friendly and neighbourhood-scale artwork across the city, authentic Indigenous representation, spectacular installations at Nuit Blanche’s 10-year anniversary, summer tours and the WITH ART program, which pairs artists with community groups so that families, children, seniors, and newcomers can be involved in making public art.

The elimination of funding for the Public Art Program in the 2019 Capital Budget not only impedes the start of new projects, but also the ongoing management of projects in progress. There is no operating funding provided to the Public Art Program.

Before the vote on March 20, please call and write to the Mayor and the Executive Policy Committee (contact information below) as well as your Councillor, and ask them to reinstate funding for the Public Art Strategy in the 2019 Capital Budget. There is still time to voice your support for the Public Art Program. Please share widely.

Before the vote on March 20, please call and write to the Mayor and the Executive Policy Committee (contact information below) as well as your Councillor, and ask them to reinstate funding for the Public Art Strategy in the 2019 Capital Budget. There is still time to voice your support for the Public Art Program. Please share widely.



Mayor Brian Bowman, 204-986-5665, mayorbowman@winnipeg.ca

Executive Policy Committee

Councillor Matt Allard, 204-290-9976, mattallard@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Scott Gillingham, 204-986-5848, scottgillingham@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Cindy Gilroy, 204-986-5951, cgilroy@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Brian Mayes, 204-986-5088, bmayes@winnipeg.ca
Councillor John Orlikow, 204-986-5236, jorlikow@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Sherri Rollins, 204-986-5878, srollins@winnipeg.ca

Deputy Mayor Markus Chambers, 204-986-5920, markuschambers@winnipeg.ca
Acting Deputy Mayor Vivian Santos, 204-986-8401, vsantos@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Jeff Browaty, 204-986-5196, jbrowaty@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Ross Eadie, 204-986-5188, readie@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Kevin Klein, 204-986-5232, kklein@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Janice Lukes, 204-986-6824, jlukes@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Shawn Nason, 204-986-8087, snason@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Devi Sharma, 204-986-5264, devi@winnipeg.ca
Councillor Jason Shreyer, 204-986-5195, jschreyer@winnipeg.ca
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

2 weeks ago

Artspace

We had a ton of fun curling yesterday!
However, I think we completed more falls than throws; my bruised knee is the proof.

If you’re in the Exchange District area, be sure to join in on the pickup hockey game held today.We're playing hockey every Friday afternoon in Old Market Square! If you want to come and borrow some nets and sticks anytime, just send us an email to info@exchangedistrict.org to reserve!
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

3 weeks ago

Artspace

If you're in the Exchange District this afternoon, Artspace and friends are playing a curling match at Market Square.
So, why not enjoy the last few days of winter by joining us for a match of extremely non-competitive curling!

A huge thank you to the Exchange District Business Improvement Zone for providing the curling rocks and brooms.

Curly, the anthropomorphic curling rock, may make an appearance.
... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Contact us

425-100 Arthur Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3B 1H3
Tel: 204.947.0984

Staff directory